Register | Forgot Your Password? | Close
Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Login or Register
Four players on the fourth-ranked Arizona Wildcats were awarded with conference honors Monday, headlined with two All-Pac-12 First Team selections in Aaron Gordon and Nick Johnson.

Johnson, who was also the recipient of the conference Player of the Year award and named to the All-Defensive team, led the Wildcats in scoring (16.1) and finished eighth in the Pac-12 in that category.

The junior guard has increased his scoring average in each of the past three seasons and only failed to score double-digits in three of the team's games this year.

The 28-3 Wildcats would not be celebrating their conference regular season title without first-year player Aaron Gordon. In addition to his First Team honors, the 6-foot-9 forward was also selected to the All-Freshman Team and named the conference Freshman of the Year.

Joining Gordon on the All-Freshman Team is teammate Rondae Hollis-Jefferson. Hollis-Jefferson had 13 games this season with double-digit points and led his team with 31 blocks.

Senior guard T.J. McConnell was the lone Wildcat on the All-Pac-12 Second Team, after spending his junior season on the bench due to NCAA transfer rules. The 6-foot-1 guard was also selected to the All-Pac-12 Defensive team, finishing with a team-high 57 steals -- third-most in the conference.

Head coach Sean Miller was awarded the Pac-12 John Wooden Coach of the Year award, after leading the Wildcats to a 15-3 conference record and a perfect 20-0 at home. Miller also won the award in 2011 after finishing the regular season at 25-6 and 14-4 in the conference.

Arizona Sports,

share this story:
Attention Comment Users: We have recently changed our comments boards.
We would like you to be part of the conversation with all fans of Arizona sports teams by logging in with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing Arizona Sports (KTAR) account members will need to create a Disqus account or use one of the aforementioned social media logins. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Team Leaders