Register | Forgot Your Password? | Close
Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Login or Register
Arizona State senior quarterback Taylor Kelly is one of 39 players named on the Davey O'Brien Award watch list released Wednesday.

Kelly, a native of Eagle, Idaho, led the Sun Devils to the Pac-12 South Division title last season when he completed 62.4 percent (302-of-484) of his passes for 3,635 yards and 28 touchdowns.

In two years as a starter, Kelly has posted an 18-9 mark while throwing for 6,674 yards and 57 touchdowns against only 21 interceptions. He's also been a threat with his legs, running for 1,124 yards and 10 scores.

Kelly is one of eight Pac-12 quarterbacks on the list, joining Cal's Jared Goff, Washington State's Connor Halliday, Stanford's Kevin Hogan, UCLA's Brett Hundley, USC's Cody Kessler, Oregon State's Sean Mannion and Oregon's Marcus Mariota.

Last year's O'Brien recipient, Florida State's Jameis Winston, is also on the list. Winston would also win the Heisman Trophy in his redshirt freshman season for the BCS champion Seminoles.

The Davey O'Brien Award is presented annually to the best collegiate quarterback in the country. The 38th annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Arizona Sports,

share this story:
Attention Comment Users: We have recently changed our comments boards.
We would like you to be part of the conversation with all fans of Arizona sports teams by logging in with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing Arizona Sports (KTAR) account members will need to create a Disqus account or use one of the aforementioned social media logins. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Team Leaders