Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Arizona Sports Now On 98.7 FM
Latest News


Arizona State Sun Devils

Updated Nov 26, 2014 - 7:26 pm

Territorial Cup History: Arizona State vs. Arizona

It's the oldest trophy in college football.

It's been lost and found, and once again represents the prize awarded to the winner of the annual football game between the University of Arizona and Arizona State University.

Friday afternoon in Tucson, the 13th-ranked Sun Devils will travel south to face off against the 11th-ranked Wildcats, who are looking to claim the cup for the first time since 2011.

But that's not the only thing on the line in this. At worst, the teams are fighting for a likely berth in one of the country's best bowl games -- possibly the Fiesta -- and at best the Pac-12 South title could be on the line Friday.

Think this game matters?

Arizona leads the all-time series 47-39-1 and in the Pac-10/Pac-12 era, holds a 19-16-1 advantage. But since the turn of the century, ASU has a 9-5 edge, including last season's 58-21 blowout of the visiting 'Cats.

This year's game features a pair of ranked teams for the first time since 1986.

As we get closer to Friday's contest, here's a little thumbnail history of what this heated rivalry game has looked like since the two schools joined the Pac-10 in 1978.

YearSiteASU RecordUA RecordScoreDetails
1978Tucson7-35-5ASU 18-17Sun Devils win 4th straight in rivalry
1979Tempe6-45-4-1UA 27-24Brent Weber makes last-second field goal to lift Wildcats
1980Tucson6-45-5ASU 44-7ASU stormed to 31-0 halftime lead
1981Tempe8-2 (#18)6-4ASU 24-13Teams combine for 10 turnovers in rain-soaked game
1982Tucson9-1 (#6)5-4-1UA 28-18Wildcats knock ASU out of Rose Bowl
1983Tempe6-3-16-3-1UA 17-15UA's Max Zendejas kicks GW 45-yard field goal as time expires
1984Tucson5-56-4UA 16-10Max Zendejas kicks three field goals, including a 52-yarder
1985Tempe8-27-3UA 16-13Max Zendejas' 32-yd FG keeps ASU out of the Rose Bowl again
1986Tucson9-0-1 (#4)7-2 (#14)UA 34-17Wildcats ruin ASU's undefeated season
1987Tempe6-44-4-2Tie 24-24Dick Tomey ops to kick FG for tie; Wildcats end season with three ties
1988Tucson6-46-4UA 28-18Ronald Veal hits Derek Hill on a 55-yard Hail Mary TD pass on last play of first half
1989Tempe6-3-16-4UA 28-10Sun Devils take field in all gold uniforms
1990Tucson4-56-4UA 21-17Bobby Roland preserves win by intercepting Paul Justin at UA 4-yard line with :30 left
1991Tempe5-54-6ASU 37-14"The Streak" ends at 9; Larry Marmie's final game as ASU coach
1992Tucson5-56-3-1 (#16)ASU 7-6Kevin Galbreath's 51-yd TD run in 4th qtr gives ASU win
1993Tempe6-48-2 (#19)UA 34-20Dan White throws three second-half touchdowns
1994Tucson3-77-3UA 28-27Wildcats rally from 27-15 deficit in fourth quarter; Jon Baker misses last-second field goal
1995Tempe6-45-5UA 31-28Wildcats score 17 unanswered points in fourth quarter; Jon Prasuhn's last-second field goal wins it
1996Tucson10-0 (#4)5-5ASU 56-14ASU completes perfect regular season
1997Tempe8-2 (#17)5-5UA 28-16Ortege Jenkins throws three first-half TD passes
1998Tucson5-510-1 (#7)UA 50-42Trung Canidate runs for 288 yards and 3 TDs
1999Tempe5-55-5ASU 42-27Backfield tandem of J.R. Redmond and Delvon Flowers leads ASU to 226 rushing yards
2000Tucson5-55-5ASU 30-17Sun Devils force three turnovers; Terrell Suggs scores def. TD; Mike Barth scores on fake FG
2001Tempe4-64-6UA 34-21Wildcats take 20-0 lead after first quarter; Clarence Farmer 158 yards rushing and one TD
2002Tucson7-54-7ASU 34-20Mike Williams runs for 162 yards and four TDs
2003Tempe4-72-9ASU 28-7Andrew Walter throws for 281 yards and three touchdowns
2004Tucson8-2 (#18)2-8UA 34-27Richard Kovalchek throws for three scores, ASU commits five turnovers
2005Tempe5-53-7ASU 23-20Terry Richardson 71-yard punt return TD; Jess Ainsworth kicks GW 20-yard FG with :09 left
2006Tucson6-56-5ASU 28-14Rudy Carpenter throws three TD passes; Wildcats gain only 168 total yards
2007Tempe9-2 (#13)5-6ASU 20-17Rudy Carpenter throws two touchdown passes
2008Tucson5-66-5UA 31-10Willie Tuitama throws for 284 yards and two scores; ASU only 162 total yards
2009Tempe4-77-4UA 20-17Kyle Williams muffs fourth-quarter punt; Alex Zendejas kicks GW FG with no time left
2010Tucson5-67-4ASU 30-29 (2OT)James Brooks blocks two extra points to preserve ASU win
2011Tempe6-42-8UA 31-27Backup QB Bryson Beirne hits Juron Criner on GW TD with 5:18 left
2012Tucson6-57-4ASU 41-34Sun Devils explode for 24 points in the fourth quarter
2013Tempe9-2 (#13)7-4ASU 58-21D.J. Foster runs for 124 yards and 2 TDs, Jaelen Strong tallies 142 receiving yards and a TD
2014Tucson9-2 (#13)9-2 (#11)----

About the Author


comments powered by Disqus
Latest News