Register | Forgot Your Password? | Close
Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Login or Register
AP: cfded2cf-3369-4a72-b071-3139ec23ed1f
Arizona Diamondbacks starting pitcher Patrick Corbin throws against the Colorado Rockies during the first inning in a spring training baseball game on Friday, Feb. 28, 2014, in Scottsdale, Ariz. (AP Photo/Gregory Bull)
The Arizona Diamondbacks have agreed to one-year contracts with 22 pre-arbitration players, according to D-backs Executive Vice President and General Manager Kevin Towers.

The 22 players signed consist of 14 pitchers, five outfielders, two infielders and a catcher.

Since these players have less than three years experience in the big leagues they will earn the league minimum ($500,000) or slightly higher.

Topping the list is left-handed pitcher Patrick Corbin, who will be the team's starter in the first game against the Dodgers in Australia. The 24-year-old won 14 games for the D-backs last year as a rookie.

Fellow left-handed starting pitcher Wade Miley also agreed to terms with the team, as did relief pitcher Addison Reed, who was acquired through a trade with the Chicago White Sox during the offseason.

The D-backs also signed outfielder A.J. Pollock, who started 102 games last year and batted hit .269 with eight home runs 38 RBI.

Didi Gregorius and Chris Owings, who are currently vying for the starting shortstop job, were also among those players signed to contracts.

The other players who signed include pitchers Randall Delgado, Chase Anderson, Charles Brewer, Will Harris, Marcos Mateo, Alex Sanabia, Bo Schultz, Zeke Spruill, Eury De la Rosa, Joe Paterson and Santos Rodriguez; outfielders Tony Campana, Ender Inciarte, Alfredo Marte, and Matt Tuiasosopo; and catcher Tuffy Gosewisch.

share this story:
Attention Comment Users: We have recently changed our comments boards.
We would like you to be part of the conversation with all fans of Arizona sports teams by logging in with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing Arizona Sports (KTAR) account members will need to create a Disqus account or use one of the aforementioned social media logins. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Team Leaders