Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Arizona Sports Now On 98.7 FM
Latest News


Arizona Diamondbacks

D-backs take home more defensive awards

Though the Arizona Diamondbacks' "grit" mantra didn't lead them to the playoffs, the attitude did help them become one of the best defensive teams in baseball.

The Diamondbacks announced Thursday that Gerardo Parra has been named the National League Wilson Defensive Player of the Year while the team was named Wilson's NL Defensive Team of the Year.

Parra led all Major League outfielders with 17 assists while the Diamondbacks made a National League-low 75 errors and had a league-best .988 fielding percentage. Parra and Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt won a Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

The award, which was created in 2012, combines scouting information, sabermetric analysis and basic fielding statistics, according to a press release. Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia won the AL Defensive Player of the Year while the Kansas City Royals and Baltimore Orioles tied for the team award.

The 2012 individual winners were Michael Bourn and Mike Trout and the Atlanta Braves were the Defensive Team of the Year.

About the Author

School: University of Akron, University of Arizona When you started with Bonneville Phoenix: Sept., 2013 Favorite sports memory: Tie between flying from Akron, Ohio to Phoenix to be at the 2008 NFC Championship and being at Game 7 of the 2001 World Series Favorite all-time athlete: Jim Thome Favorite sports movies: Tin Cup, Major League, The Waterboy Most crushing sports moment: Santonio Holmes' go-ahead touchdown in Super Bowl 43


comments powered by Disqus
Latest News