Register | Forgot Your Password? | Close
Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Login or Register
After six weeks of spring training, the 2013 MLB season is finally here, and the new-look Arizona Diamondbacks will try to rebound from a disappointing 81-81 campaign.

Now Opening Day is a time for renewed optimism regardless of who you root for, but let's just say season openers are kind of the D-backs' thing of late.

Before you enjoy Monday night's action against the St. Louis Cardinals, take a look at Arizona's Opening Day history by the numbers.

1 - One-run games have somewhat become the norm for the D-backs on Opening Day in recent years. Of Arizona's last four season-opening victories, three have come by one run.

2 - Monday will mark the second time the D-backs have ever played host to a non-NL West team on Opening Day. Arizona has, however, previously played one home opener against the St. Louis Cardinals back in April 2001. St. Louis won the game 12-9, but the D-backs went on to claim the World Series title that season.

3 - Right-hander Ian Kennedy will take the mound on Opening Day for the third straight year. He is the third pitcher in D-backs history to start three or more season openers. Randy Johnson (6) and Brandon Webb (4) are the other two.

4 - Miguel Montero will become the first catcher in franchise history to make four straight Opening Day starts behind the plate. Damian Miller and Chris Snyder each had three Opening Day starts.

6 - Arizona has won six straight Opening Day games dating back to its win over the Colorado Rockies at Coors Field on April 2, 2007.

8 - Not surprisingly the record for most Opening Day starts in franchise history belongs to Luis Gonzalez. Gonzo played in eight straight from 1999-2006.

9 - Chase Field has hosted Opening Day on nine different occasions. The D-backs are only 5-4 in those games.

10 - Despite their success on Opening Day, offense hasn't always been at a premium for the D-backs during season openers. In 15 games, Arizona has yet to reach the 10-run mark.

13 - The D-backs will take the field Monday night with 13 players on their active roster who weren't with the team on Opening Day in 2012. Eight (Eric Chavez, Eric Hinske, Martin Prado, Cliff Pennington, Tony Sipp, Brandon McCarthy, Heath Bell and Matt Reynolds) of those 13 were acquired this past off-season.

16 - Monday will mark the 16th Opening Day in the organization's history. The D-backs are 9-6 in season openers.

2012 - Last season marked the first time the D-backs played the eventual World Series champion (San Francisco Giants) on Opening Day. In 2007, Arizona played the National Champion Colorado Rockies on Opening Day, but Clint Hurdle and Co. were swept in four games by the Red Sox in the Fall Classic.

Dave Dulberg, Web Content Editor -

share this story:
Attention Comment Users: We have recently changed our comments boards.
We would like you to be part of the conversation with all fans of Arizona sports teams by logging in with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing Arizona Sports (KTAR) account members will need to create a Disqus account or use one of the aforementioned social media logins. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Team Leaders