Register | Forgot Your Password? | Close
Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Login or Register

The Phoenix Suns finished with a record of 48-34 and barely missed the playoffs.

Playoffs or not, a winning record far exceeded the expectations of the team. First-year head coach Jeff Hornacek was recognized for the season his team had as he finished second in the 2013-14 NBA Coach of the Year voting.

Hornacek received 37 first-place votes, 44 second-place votes and 22 third-place tallies. His total of 339 points was 41 behind the San Antonio Spurs' Gregg Popovich.

Popovich won the award for the third time after leading the Spurs to a league-best 62 wins.

Two Suns coaches have won the annual honor -- Cotton Fitzsimmons in 1988-89 and Mike D'Antoni in 2004-05.

2013-14 NBA Coach of the Year Voting

Coach, Team1st Place2nd Place3rd PlacePoints
Gregg Popovich, Spurs592316380
Jeff Hornacek, Suns374422339
Tom Thibodeau, Bulls122233159
Steve Clifford, Bobcats82124127
Dwayne Casey, Raptors591870
Terry Stotts, Trail Blazers23625
Doc Rivers, Clippers12213
Scott Brooks, Thunder0011
Mark Jackson, Warriors0011
Jason Kidd, Nets0011

Arizona Sports,

share this story:
Attention Comment Users: We have recently changed our comments boards.
We would like you to be part of the conversation with all fans of Arizona sports teams by logging in with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing Arizona Sports (KTAR) account members will need to create a Disqus account or use one of the aforementioned social media logins. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Team Leaders